Home

IMG_9487

Every year I set a reading goal for myself. If I don’t meet this goal nothing happens, I just fall off my avid-reader high horse a little. Nothing to worry about it. This year I cracked the covers of 47 books that cover many genres. I’ve added just as many that I’ve yet to read. Because I believe reading is so important, and that it’s the best medicine for whatever ails you, I’m going to thank one Book Fridge follower by buying them any three books from the list below. As a faithful fridger you know that I don’t review or endorse any book I haven’t read, nor do I interview any author whose work I haven’t read, so you must pick from this list. Thanks for supporting Book Fridge for another year, my intermittent updates, masturbatory choices, and all the rest of it. There’s no shame in any (insert your personal embarrassing genre choice here) game. Read what interests you. In the words of Nick Hornby: “If you’re not enjoying a book then put it down.” I’ve enjoyed something–character, plot, style, imagery, voice, form, SOMETHING–about all of these books. Thank you writers and publishers for unleashing them to the world.

The 2013 list:
Inside – Kenneth J. Harvey
Never More There – Stephen Rowe
The Other Side of Midnight: Taxicab Stories – Mike Heffernan
Bared to You – Sylvia Day
A Long Way Gone – Ishmael Beah
Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar – Cheryl Strayed
Happiness – Mathieu Ricard
Every Little Thing – Chad Pelley
Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots – Deborah Feldman
Torch – Cheryl Strayed
The Hunger Moon: New and Selected Poems, 1980-2010 – Marge Piercy
Indian Horse – Richard Wagamese
Hold Fast – Kevin Major
Under the Keel – MIchael Crummey
Sleeping Funny – Miranda Hill
Monkey Ranch – Julie Bruck
Grace Hartman: A Woman for Her Time – Susan Crean
Maxine – Claire Wilkshire
Afloat – John Reibetanz
The Root that Grows the Tree – Karen Rowe
Caught – Lisa Moore
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail – Cheryl Strayed
Cocktails for Three – Madeleine Wickham
Reflected in You – Sylvia Day
Ocean – Sue Goyette
The Rod that Binds the Sheaf – Karen Rowe
The Empty Room – Lauren B. Davis
Let’s Discuss Diabetes with Owls – David Sedaris
Naked – David Sedaris
When this World Comes to an End – Kate Cayley
Mo’ Meta Blues: The World According to Questlove – Ahmir Questlove Thompson
A Street Cat Named Bob: How One Man and His Cat Found Hope on the Streets – James Bowen
When we are Engulfed in Flames – David Sedaris
Motherfumbler – Vicki Murphy
Escape Velocity – Carmelita McGrath
All We Want is Everything – Andrew F. Sullivan
Drunk Mom: A Memoir – Jowita Bydlowska
A Beautiful Truth – Colin McAdam
Let Me Off at the Top: My Classy Life and Other Musings – Ron Burgandy
Gentleman Practice – Buddy Wakefield
I Could Pee on This – Francesco Marciuliano
Postapoc – Liz Worth
Dear Life – Alice Munro

*Missing from the list are some textbooks that I feel I was bullied into reading by the good ol’ ivory tower.

Oh! To win the books just engage with BF in some way–comment, share, follow on Twitter, befriend on Facebook or Goodreads, retweet, like, etc. Contest ends at midnight on December 31.

Leave a Reply

