Home

As a voyeuristic reader, I love to know what others are reading, what books they enjoy and why they enjoy them, so I decided to pester some authors to elicit similar information with, “What book are you looking forward to reading this summer?” The authors could only choose one title of one book. It could be a re-read, a new release, a textbook, anything, but they weren’t allowed to explain themselves. That is, no blurb, explanations or ramblings. This proved to be a daunting task as any avid reader knows. I have a pile of books in my queue and it literally gets taller every week. I included myself on this list just to put myself to the task of choosing just one read that excites me. Having just been laid off, I’m spending a lot of time contemplating my next move that could include anything from taking out my retirement and going on a reckless adventure to getting a desk job in a completely different field. My mind has not been on books but jobs, bills, and the dreadful fact that I have to move yet again. So with this little intro I’ve managed to do exactly what I told my contributers they could not, preface their book choice with a why. What the hell, I might as well keep talking. Let me peruse my pile: Should I choose the latest from Cheryl Strayed or the first from Julie Bruck, the last release by William Gaddis or my very first Christopher Moore? No, none of those, though they’re on the summer longlist.

What are you looking forward to reading this summer? Comment, share or like this post and I’ll enter your name to win one of these titles, any one you choose, to add to your summer reading. Learn more about the authors, what they’re up to and the books they’ve written by clicking on their names.

Valerie Compton, Julie Booker, Chad Pelley – Caught by Lisa Moore

Roger Maunder – Audience of Chairs by Joan Clark

Mark Callanan – Bender: New and Selected Poems by Dean Young

John Riebetanz – A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

Claire Wilkshire – Under the Keel by Michael Crummey

Gerard Collins, Michael Murphy – Every Little Thing by Chad Pelley

Julie Bruck – War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Sara Tilley – Love and the Mess We’re In by Stephen Marche

Mike Heffernan – Rise of the Warrior Cop: The Militarization of America’s Police Forces by Radley Balko

Michelle Butler Hallett – Wise Blood by Flanner O’Connor

Lauren B. Davis – The Warden by Anthony Trollope

Stephen Rowe – Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse

Lee Thompson – Cannonball by Joseph McElroy

Sarah Selecky – A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

Kerri Cull – The Empty Room by Lauren B. Davis

Paul Butler, Tina Chaulk, Lisa Moore – Maxine by Claire Wilkshire

Trudy Morgan Cole – Big Brother by Lionel Schriver

Elisabeth de Mariaffi – Canary by Nancy Jo Cullen

Corey Redekop – The ‘Geisters by David Nickle

Stephanie McKenzie – Creating Dangerously: The Immigrant Artist at Work by Edwidge Dandicat

Danila Botha – Drunk Mom by Jowita Bydlowska

Catherine McKenzie – The Banks of Certain Rivers by Jon Harrison

Russell Wangersky – Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan

Leslie Vryenhoek – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Larry Mathews, Miranda Hill – Sweet Jesus by Christine Pountney

Mary Dalton – Nice Weather by Frederick Seidel

Annamarie Beckel – The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Jamie Fitzpatrick – The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

Liz Worth – I Dreamed I was a Very Clean Tramp by Richard Hell

Joel Thomas Hynes – Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry into the Value of Work by Matthew B. Crawford

Kate Story – 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

*Check back over the next week for more author inclusions.

Leave a Reply

